Parish Council Meetings

The Parish Council meets at the Jubilee Hall, at 7.30 pm usually on the first Monday of the month.

 

Anyone is welcome to attend the meetings but whilst members of the public cannot participate a short period of time is given for members of the public to air their views on matters directly related to the Parish Council.

Parish Council meeting dates for 2019

Monday 3rd June

Monday 1st July

Monday 5th August

Monday 2nd September

Monday 7th October

Monday 4th November

Monday 2nd December

2020

Monday 6th January

Monday 3rd February

Monday 2nd March

 

The Role of the Clerk

 

The Clerk is the ‘Proper Officer’ of the Council who is responsible for the smooth running of the Council’s business. He/she is the first point of contact for the Council and all correspondence comes to the Clerk.

 

Responsibility for implementing the decisions of the Council rests with the Clerk along with giving professional guidance where necessary whilst remaining neutral and discrete. The Clerk is also responsible for financial management.

 

The Clerk prepares, circulates and displays agendas in public places. She/he signs notices and summonses with a list of business to be transacted but does not have the power to fix the meetings of the Council. The Clerk is required to attend meetings, take minutes, keep Council minutes in a book and hold other documents.

 

A member of the Council may be appointed as Clerk without remuneration but nowadays it is more usual to appoint someone who is not a councillor to be paid for the work they undertake.

Salhouse Parish Council | Mrs Sarah Martin (Parish Clerk) - 01692 535775 | clerk.salhousepc@gmail.com

Site developed and supported  by www.stevejackman.me